If you are no more interested in using your Facebook account, you can easily do away with your account by deleting it permanently. To know how to permanently delete your Facebook account, follow the step-by-step instructions provided in this guide.
Steps to Permanently Delete your Facebook Account
NOTE: Before you delete your Facebook account permanently, if you wish to backup your FB data, you can do so by downloading a copy of your information from Facebook. For this:
- Sing into your Facebook account and click on the Down arrow icon located on the top-right corner of your Facebook account and select Settings option from the drop-down menu.
- In the General Settings section, you will see the notification which reads “To download your information, go to your Facebook information.”
- You will need to click on the “your Facebook information” highlighted option.
- On the next screen, click on the View option next to “Download your information”. You will be directed to the next page.
- On the next page, you will get the option download your information. You can download your data as per your preference by going through the information provided on the page.
And, once you are done downloading your information, you can follow these steps to delete your Facebook account permanently.
1.) Click on the Facebook Account Deletion link – https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account and sign in to your Facebook account (if you are not already logged in).
2.) Once you are on the Facebook Account Deletion page, you will see a small box with some information in it.
3.) Make sure to go through the provided information carefully. Along with the information, you will also be provided with two options: Deactivate Account and Download Info.
- Deactivate Account: If you click on the deactivate account, you will not only be able to use messenger but can also get back access to your FB account whenever you wish to. However, if you wish to delete your account permanently, you will also lose access to messenger as well.
- Download Info: Clicking on this option will redirect you to your Facebook information page to backup your account information.
4.) Once you have taken a backup of your Facebook information and you can click on the Delete Account button located on the lower-corner of the box.
5.) As you will click on the Delete Account button, you will be prompted to confirm your decision by entering the password in the prompted box. Simply enter your password and click on the Continue button to delete your account permanently.
NOTE: In case you wish to revoke your account deletion action and wish to get back to your Facebook account, you can do so only if it has been no more than 14 days since you initiated the deletion of your account. After 14 days, you will not be able to access your account at all.
Also, while you get 14 days to get back the access to your account, Facebook may take up to 90 days to completely delete the things you have posted. And, you can be assured that your information will not be accessible to other Facebook users.
So, this is how you can permanently delete your Facebook account. For more assistance regarding your Facebook account, feel free to get in touch with our Facebook customer service experts anytime via toll-free number, email, or live chat support option