A Yahoo account user can easily delete the account when it is not in use. This is a common practice when a Yahoo user creates an account, but later realized that there is no use of it; then you can easily delete the account. The new email service providers as Gmail, AOL, Outlook and more are available; this gives choice to existing Yahoo Mail users.
In fact, the last mass-hacking incident with Yahoo Mail made users switch to some other options. They are closing down the use of their Yahoo account and now moving to some other service provider for an email to get better services and features. Here, some users are not interested to use their account for some personal reasons; well, they can opt to close the account anytime.
How can I delete my existing Yahoo! Mail account?
When you are sure about deleting your account and want to get rid of it, you can think of deleting your account on an immediate note. The idea is simple; you have to follow a step by step process to delete the account.
You are about to delete the account; so after deletion, you can’t access your Yahoo account messages and attachments, take backup. This is the need for you as a user; you have to get backup of such important conversation and attachments before deletion; else you can’t get them back.
Along with this, we would recommend you remove your account from any third-party website and subscription; because after closing the account, you can’t get it back and you may lose these accounts too.
Steps to close/delete/deactivate the Yahoo account
When you are sure about closing your Yahoo account and already taken a necessary backup; it’s time to follow the account termination process.
- The first step is to sign in to the Yahoo account termination page
- Here, you can read the info on terminating your account carefully
- After that click on Continue button
- Then confirm your identity and click on Yes, terminate this account message
- This will send your request to close your account
Once you submit the request to close your account, you need to wait for the next 40 days to get your account closed completely. Yahoo will take this minimum time period to close your account; in case you wish to get your account to reactivate, you can by signing in once again.
If you need any assistance, contact Yahoo customer support helpdesk for live help on the technical part.