Toll Free 1-888-829-5322 (US/Canada)
5 Steps to Terminate Your Microsoft Skype Account Permanently

How to Delete a Skype Account?

delete Skype account

While Skype is undoubtedly an ideal application to carry out your different personal and business communication tasks such as messaging, file sharing, video conferencing, group voice/video call etc. not every user finds it suitable for their various purposes.

If you also among the users who didn’t find Skype useful as per your requirements, and if you wish to stop using it in the future, you can simply delete your Skype account by following the instructions provided in this guide.

Steps to Delete Skype Account

NOTE: A Skype account is associated with a Microsoft account. This means that when you will delete your Skype account, it will also make your other Microsoft products or services associated with the same account inaccessible.

Such Microsoft products include Office Online, Outlook.com, OneDrive, Xbox Live etc. So, make sure to consider this before you delete your Skype account.

Also, when you will try to delete your Skype account, it is suggested to keep the following points in mind:

  • Make sure to take a backup all your files and contacts listed in your Skype account.
  • Use your Skype credit balance as you will not be able to get it back once your Skype account gets terminated.
  • Cancel all your active subscription in order to avoid unnecessary charges after deletion of your account.

After considering the above-mentioned suggestions, you can follow the below-mentioned steps to delete your Skype account permanently.

1.) Open a web browser on your computer and log in to your Microsoft Skype account.

2.) After you are signed in to your Skype account, you will need to go to the Skype account Deletion page.

3.) When you are on the Skype account deletion page, you will need to make sure that you read all the information provided on that page thoroughly. Once you are done reading the information, you will need to click on the Next button.

4.) On the next page, you will be prompted with a notification that would suggest you to consider reading some information before you begin the deletion of your Microsoft Skype account. So, you need to make sure that you go through that information and choose a reason from the drop-down list that appears on your screen to remove your Skype account.

5.) After selecting the appropriate reason from the drop-down list, you will need to click on the Mark account for closure button. As you will click on this button, your Microsoft account (including Skype account) will be closed after a period of 60 days.

NOTE: If you wish to reactivate your Skype account within 60 days of deleting it, all you need to do is simply sign in to your account. However, if you wish to reactivate your deleted Microsoft Skype account after 60 days, unfortunately, you will not be able to recover it.

And, this is how you can delete your Microsoft Skype account.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *